Australia vs India: Rohit Sharma Included In Test Squad, Virat Kohli To Return After 1st Test


India captain Virat Kohli will return to India from Australia after the first Test in the four-match series, the Board of Cricket Keep an eye on in India (BCCI) said in a release on Monday. The Indian cricket board also confirmed that Rohit Sharma has been included in the Test squad, but will be rested for the ODI and T20 International (T20I) series Down Under. Kohli had intimated the Board approximately his plans to go back to India after the first Test in the selection committee assembly in October and has been granted paternity leave, the commentary said.

Kohli and his wife Anushka Sharma are expecting their first child in January next year.

“At the selection committee assembly held on October 26th, 2020, Mr Virat Kohli had informed the BCCI approximately his plans to go back to India after the first Test in Adelaide,” the commentary said. “The BCCI has granted paternity leave to the Indian captain. He’ll return after the first Test against Australia in Adelaide.”

Rohit Sharma was once to start with left out of the entire squads when the teams for the tour of Australia were announced, because of a hamstring injury suffered right through Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020.

Then again, the BCCI have been monitoring his fitness, and have cleared him to play the Test series.

“The BCCI Medical Team has been monitoring Rohit Sharma’s fitness and has briefed All-India Senior Selection Committee on the same,” the commentary said.

“In consultation with Mr Sharma, it has been made up our minds to rest him for the ODIs and T20Is in Australia to regain full fitness and he has been included in India’s Test squad for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy,” it concluded.

After lacking four games right through the IPL, Rohit Sharma returned to action for Mumbai Indians for their last league game and also played the Qualifier 1 match against Delhi Capitals, raising questions approximately his exclusion from the India squad.

He’ll lead MI in the last against DC on November 10.

India’s tour of Australia will start with a three-match ODI series, beginning on November 27.

The ODI series will be followed by three T20Is, beginning on December 4.


The first Test will begin on December 17 and go on until December 21. The second one Test is the Boxing Day Test.

The four-match series will conclude on January 19.

Topics mentioned in this article

Top stories / News / Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here