Bihar election result LIVE: NDA ahead in 130 seats, last tally to be late


Bihar election result 2020 LIVE: According to trends, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) — the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Janata Dal (United, and a couple of other parties — is set to defy exit polls and keep power in Bihar. The BJP is leading in 72 seats, while Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) is ahead in 49 Meeting constituencies. Whether these trends hold, the NDA will have to be capable to get past the magic figure of 122 in the 243-member House. Meantime, in the Mahagathbandhan fold, the Tejashwi Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is ahead in 66 seats and the Congress in 21.

The counting of votes, which began at 8 am, is likely to continue late into the evening on account of a staggering increase in the number of EVMs as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. So far, only 20 per cent of the votes have been counted, according to the Election Commission of India.


Bihar Meeting Election 2020 is a right away contest between the NDA and the Mahagathbandhan, or the ‘grand alliance’. In Mahagathbandhan, the RJD is contesting in 144 seats, the Congress in 70, and Left parties in 29. In the NDA, the JD(U) is contesting in 115 seats and the BJP in 110.

A majority of the exit polls had projected that the Tejashwi Yadav-led Mahagathbandhan might have an edge over the NDA. On the other hand, whether the initial trends are to be relied upon, the pollsters have got the Bihar result improper once again.


Stay tuned for Bihar election result 2020 LIVE updates.

Top stories / News / Trade


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here