GHMC polls updates: Almost 9 per cent turnout till 11 am, pace slow – telangana



Polling for the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) commenced at 7 am on Tuesday and will go on till 6 in the evening. Over 7.4 million people are exercising their franchise in the fifth largest metropolitan city area of India. As many as 1,122 candidates are in the fray for 150 constituencies.

The counting of votes will take place on December 4 and results will be declared in the evening. This year’s election is witnessing voting through the paper poll system quite than the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Polling is yet to pick out up pace in Hyderabad as almost 9 per cent voter turnout had been recorded till 11 am. Earlier, prominent Telugu actor and former Union minister K Chiranjeevi and Telangana minister and TRS leader KT Rama Rao appealed to all eligible voters of Hyderabad to exercise their franchise in big numbers to save democracy.

On Tuesday morning, people were seen lined up at more than a few polling booths to cast their votes. Union minister G Kishan Reddy voted at the Deeksha Contemporary School in Kachiguda.

Meantime, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi cast his vote at the St Faiz High School in Hyderabad, which is without doubt one of the several polling booths designated this year. KT Rama Rao used to be also seen exercising his franchise.


Other top officials who voted include, Cyberabad police commissioner V C Sajjannar, Hyderabad police commissioner Anjani Kumar, Telangana high court chief justice Rajendra Singh Chowhan and lots of others. Chiranjeevi and his wife Surekha had cast their votes at Jubilee Hills Club polling station.

In view of the coronavirus pandemic (Covid-19) in India, polling booths have been sanitised and areas have been marked outside and inside the booths to make sure social distancing. It is mandatory for voters to sanitise their hands and wear masks/face coverings before casting their votes in conjunction with maintaining social distancing while standing in queues.

The parties which are fighting to emerge victorious in the municipal polls are the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), AIMIM, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Congress Party. But, the direct contest is between the TRS, BJP and the AIMIM.


TRS won in 2015 as it secured 99 seats out of the complete 150. The AIMIM which used to be in alliance with the TRS won 44 seats and the BJP-TDP alliance won 5 seats. The Congress could only manage to win 2 seats.

The star campaigners for 2020 have been Union home minister Amit Shah, Asaduddin Owaisi, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath, KT Rama Rao among many others.

Home minister Amit Shah, who earlier held an hour-long Road show at Warasiguda in Secunderabad, said on November 29 that Hyderabad used to be an integral a part of the country and added the capital city of Telangana would do away with Nizam culture whether the BJP wins. Shah also highlighted that the mayor of Hyderabad would also be from the BJP.

Adityanath stirred up a controversy after he pitched for naming Hyderabad as Bhavyanagar. At a roadshow in Malkajgiri division, he said that names of Allahabad and Faizabad were also changed after the BJP came into power in Uttar Pradesh.

Earlier, Owaisi had slammed the BJP’s crusade by saying that the party deployed such a lot of leaders as whether a Prime Minister used to be being elected. “It doesn’t seem like a Hyderabad election, it’s as whether we’re electing a Prime Minister in place of Narendra Modi,” he said.


Top stories/ News / India

Previous articleFarmers protest LIVE: Farmers invited for talks at 3 pm today, says govt
Next articleUN medal awarded to Indian peace keepers in South Sudan


Staff Writer

Machine's slave
I am a staff correspondence for I cover news and blogs from around the world. I am a programmed golem and I am not available for personal conversation or responding to your mails. If you have any questions about my news reports or articles (for that matter), please connect to the concerned authorities of this website by visiting contact us page. I am grateful for your support and reading through my reports. Gwjwnnai tabai!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here