HIGHLIGHTS: KXIP pulls a miraculous win against SRH, stays in playoffs race


In today’s second match of the Indian Premier league 2020 (IPL 2020), KL Rahul-led Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at Dubai International Stadium.

With this win, KXIP now has 10 points and is placed at the fifth spot in the points table. Alternatively, SRH is in sixth place with 8 points.

Chasing 127, SRH got off to a good start as openers David Warner and Jonny Bairstow put on 52 runs within the first six overs. Then again in the seventh over, Ravi Bishnoi given the much-needed breakthrough to KXIP as he dismissed Warner (35). In the very next over, Murugan Ashwin clean bowled Bairstow (19), reducing SRH to 58/2.

After conceding 52 runs in the first six overs, KXIP announced a significant comeback as in the next six overs, the side gave absent just 25 runs and took three wickets.

Manish Pandey and Vijay Shankar put up a brief 33-run stand, but tight bowling from KXIP resulted in Pandey’s (15) dismissal in the 16th over, with SRH still 27 runs absent from the target. In the very next over, Arshdeep Singh sent Shankar (26) back to the pavilion and the match was once set for a tense finish.

In the penultimate over, Chris Jordon dismissed Jason Holder (5), and Rashid Khan (0), and SunRisers’ chase got derailed from that point. After all, KXIP walked absent with a 12-run victory. For KXIP, Jordon and Arshdeep Singh scalped three wickets every.

Earlier, a spirited bowling performance helped SRH restrict KXIP to 126/7 in the allotted twenty overs.

Sent into bat first, KXIP got off to a stable start as openers KL Rahul and Mandeep Singh put on 37 runs for the first wicket. 

Chris Gayle then joined skipper KL Rahul added 29 runs, but the stand came to an end in the 10th over as Jason Holder had Gayle (20) caught at long-off, reducing KXIP to 66/2.

Immediately after, Rashid Khan clean-bowled KL Rahul (27) in the 11th over, and KXIP was once left in a spot of bother. 

Glenn Maxwell (12) and Deepak Hooda (0) also failed to leave a mark and KXIP was once reduced to 88/5 in the 15th over.

In the last overs, KXIP was once not in a position to receive a launchpad for destructive striking and in consequence, the side was once restricted to under the 130-run mark. Nicholas Pooran remained unbeaten on 32 for KXIP while Rashid Khan returned with the figures of 2-14 for SRH.

KXIP vs SRH playing 11

Kings Xi Punjab made two changes in its playing 11, bringing in Mandeep Singh and Chris Jordan in place of Mayank Agarwal and James Neesham. Meantime, Sunrisers Hyderabad made one change as it picked Khaleel Ahmed in place of Shahbaz Nadeem.

KXIP playing 11:  KL Rahul(w/c), Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Chris Jordan, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh.

SRH playing 11: David Warner(c), Jonny Bairstow(w), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan.


Who holds orange and purple caps in 2020 IPL? Check here


IPL live score: KXIP vs SRH full scorecard




Top stories / News / Trade


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here