ICC Set To Award Same Points For Every Match Won Right through Next World Test Championship Cycle: Outline


The International Cricket Council (ICC) will award standardised 12 points for each match won throughout the second one World Test Championships cycle which kicks off with the five-match series between India and England in August. Teams will get six points in case of a tie and four points whether the match ends in a draw. That there would be changes to the points system was once first declared by ICC interim CEO Geoff Allardice throughout a media interplay earlier this month.

“Instead of every series being worth the same number of points, 120, regardless of if the series is played over two Tests or five Tests, the next cycle will see every match being worth the same number of points – a maximum of 12 per match,” an ICC board member told PTI.

“Teams will be ranked on the percentage of to be had points they won from the matches they have got played.”

The changes in the points system should be ratified by the ICC chief executives committee in the coming weeks.

“The aim was once to check out and simplify the points system and to allow teams to be meaningfully compared on the table at any point, though they may have played differing numbers of matches and series,” the Board member added.

Excluding the India-England series, the Ashes later this year would be the only other five-match affair in the second one cycle which will end in June 2023.

Australia’s tour of India next year is the only four-Test series in the upcoming cycle.

The nine Test teams will play a complete of six series: three home and three absent just like the preceding edition.

In the inaugural edition, which New Zealand won after defeating India in the last earlier this month, the ICC had changed the qualification criteria for the World Test Championship from maximum points earned to percentage points earned from the matches contested after many scheduled series were cancelled because of COVID-19.


Right through the final cycle, the value for every series was once 120 points where a two-match India-Bangladesh series had 60 points for a win while a four-match India-Australia Test series had 30 points in the store per victory.

“England will play the most Tests (21) in WTC-2 followed by India (19), Australia (18) and South Africa (15). The inaugural WTC winners New Zealand will play only 13 matches, very similar to that of West Indies and Sri Lanka, but one less than Pakistan (14),” ”ESPNcricinfo” reported. 

Topics mentioned in this article

Top stories / News / Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here