West Bengal election result 2021: Mamata loses Nandigram; Left draws blank


West Bengal election result 2021 LIVE updates: While the counting of votes in 5 of West Bengal’s 292 seats that went to the polls is still underway, the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) has already won 209 seats and is leding on 4. The party, which had 209 members in the outgoing Meeting, looks set to support its 2016 tally. The state has a 294-member Meeting but election used to be countermanded in Shamsherganj and Jangipur constituencies because of the death of candidates. A party needed 147 seats for a simple majority in the House with an effective strength of 292.

Meantime, challenger Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fell way below its expected number of seats; it has so far won 76 and is leading in one. In a surprise turn, Mamata Banerjee missing to Suvendu Adhikari after EC retracted its earlier announcement of her win from Nandigram. Adhikari, previously a party colleague of Banerjee’s switched sides months earlier and joined the BJP.

The CPI(M)-led Left Front and the Congress party, which ruled the state for just about six decades between them, faced an unprecedented rout in West Bengal meeting elections. Neither could open its account. An alliance with the newly-formed ISF did not appear to have helped the CPI(M)-led Left Front and the Congress.

An aggregate of six exit polls had predicted that Mamata Banerjee might just make it past the midway mark.

Stay tuned for West Bengal election result 2021 LIVE updates

Top stories / News / Trade

Previous articleIntel Seeks EUR 8 Billion in Subsidies for European Chip Plant
Next articleSri Lanka’s COVID-19 Fundraiser Cricket Match Hit By Coronavirus


Staff Writer

Machine's slave
I am a staff correspondence for bodoland.xyz. I cover news and blogs from around the world. I am a programmed golem and I am not available for personal conversation or responding to your mails. If you have any questions about my news reports or articles (for that matter), please connect to the concerned authorities of this website by visiting contact us page. I am grateful for your support and reading through my reports. Gwjwnnai tabai!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here