Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 Last: Trailblazers Whip Supernovas By 16 Runs To Win The Title


Trailblazers (118 for 8) defeated Supernovas (102 for 7) by 16 runs in the last of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 to win their maiden title. Chasing an under-par 118 for 8 after Radha Yadav became the first player to take a five-wicket haul in the history of the tournament, Supernovas remained in the hunt while captain Harmanpreet Kaur (30) and Shashikala Siriwardene (19) were at the crease but they missing 4 for 28 in the final six overs to eventually finish on 102. Salma Khatun picked up two wickets, including Harmanpreet, in the 19th over of the chase with Supernovas needing 28 runs to win off the final two overs, to seal the deal for Trailblazers.

Earlier, Trailblazers were helped along by their captain Smriti Mandhana, who hit 68 runs off 49 balls, after Trailblazers were asked to bat by Supernovas at the toss.

Mandhana and Deandra Dottin (20) added 71 for the first wicket in 11.1 overs to lay a good foundation for the remainder of the line-up to capitalise.

On the other hand, Mandhana’s wicket in the 15th with the score 101 for 2 brought approximately a collapse for Trailblazers as they managed to add just 16 runs in the final five overs while losing six wickets, four of which came in the final over.

Radha used to be the wrecker-in-chief for Supernovas with her miserly spell of left-arm spin bowling. She dismissed Sophie Ecclestone (1), Jhulan Goswami (1) and Harleen Deol (4) in the 20th over as Trailblazers failed to receive any sort of momentum at the death.

Radha finished with 5 for 16 while Poonam Yadav and Siriwardene got a wicket each and every.

In reply, Supernovas were 37 for 3 in the ninth over after having missing Jemimah Rodrigues (13), Chamari Athapaththu (6), and Tania Bhatia (14) before Harmanpreet and Siriwardene added 37 runs for the fourth wicket.


On the other hand, Supernovas choked in the final five overs, losing 3 for 27, and thus conceded the match and their title that they had won for two years in a row in 2018 and 2019.

For Trailblazers, Khatun got 3 for 18, Deepti for 2 for 9 and Ecclestone picked up 1 for 26.

Topics mentioned in this article

Top stories / News / Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here